Ursula H. Poland Scholarship Award

SPONSOR: Upstate New York/Ontario Chapter of the Medical Library Association

PURPOSE: To provide an opportunity for library school students to pursue or explore health sciences librarianship.

ELIGIBILITY: The applicant must currently be enrolled in, or working toward, a Masters in Library Science from an accredited college or university in New York State or Ontario.

The scholarship monies are intended to offset the cost of a course, practicum/internship, project or assignment in a topic related to the health sciences. Course work must be taken for credit or be mandatory to earning the degree and must be scheduled after June 1, 2021 but before June 15, 2022.

AWARD AMOUNT: Two scholarship awards in the amount of $500.00 USD. As an added bonus, each awardee will receive a one-year membership in UNYOC. There will be one scholarship awarded to a Canadian applicant and one to a US applicant.

APPLICATION: Please send all application materials as one PDF attachment to:

Deborah Crooke


Be sure to include the following:

  • Personal Statement describing your interest in the scholarship. The following information must be included in your personal statement:  name of library school, degree pursued, description of intended course, practicum/internship, project or assignment, expected start & completion date, and name of course instructor, project director, or practicum/internship coordinator
  • Resume

SELECTION: The Awards Committee will evaluate applications using a scoring tool.  Preference will be given to candidates who have worked in a health sciences library, whose course work indicates a strong interest in the field of health sciences librarianship or who have an undergraduate degree in a biomedical science.

DEADLINES: Applications must be received by Friday, July 30, 2021. Monies will be disbursed upon successful completion of the activity*.

*Please note: Documentation of completion of the activity is required in the form of a transcript, or letter from the course instructor, project director, or practicum/internship coordinator, along with an address for the treasurer to send reimbursement.

2021 Recipients

Sarah Kittmer, MLIS Candidate (2022), University of Western Ontario

Usman Malik, MI Candidate (2022), University of Toronto

2019 Recipient

Hridi Das, MLIS Candidate (2019),  University of Western Ontario

2017 Recipients

Eldiflor Felipe, MI Candidate (2018), University of Toronto

Samuel Kim,  MLIS candidate (2018), University at Buffalo