Katy Nesbit Service Award

Each year, UNYOC recognizes a UNYOC member for exemplary service to the Chapter. The recipient receives a plaque and paid registration to the next Annual Meeting.

In 2004, the award was named in honor of Katy Nesbit, a dedicated member of both UNYOC and the Medical Library Association. Among her many honors and achievements, Katy was a past recipient of the Chapter’s Service Award. You can see one example of Katy’s work on our web site: Moments of Distinction: A History of the Upstate New York & Ontario Chapter of the Medical Library Association.  The call for nominations for the Katy Nesbit Service Award occurs annually.  The deadline date for this year is Friday September 10, 2021.

Call for Nominations

The Katy Nesbit Award is given to a UNYOC member for exemplary service to the Chapter during the past year. A plaque and paid UNYOC registration for the next UNYOC meeting will be awarded to the recipient. The Award will be presented at the Annual Meeting.

Criteria used to determine the recipient of the award include, but are not limited to:

  • Serving as an officer or committee chair/member
  • Working on special UNYOC projects
  • Developing/teaching courses for UNYOC members
  • Presenting papers/posters at UNYOC meetings
  • Writing/editing for UNYOC publications
  • Acting as a mentor or consultant for UNYOC members
  • Representing UNYOC to other groups

If you know of an UNYOC member whose contributions to the Chapter deserve recognition through the Katy Nesbit Award, please nominate him/her.

Please complete the nomination form and forward it to Denise Smith, UNYOC Vice Chair.

Past recipients of the Service Award:

  • 2019 – Nell Aronoff
  • 2018 – Rebecca Kindon
  • 2016 – Laura Schlueter
  • 2013 – Marie Ascher
  • 2010 – Grace Di Virgilio
  • 2009 – Amanda Start
  • 2008 – Angela Dixon
  • 2006 – Diana Cunningham
  • 2005 – Amy Gische Lyons
  • 2004 – Jeff Garvey & Pamela White
  • 2003 – Elizabeth Irish
  • 2002 – Warren Hawkes
  • 2001 – Tom Flemming
  • 2000 – Kathryn Nesbit
  • 1999 – June Glaser